Pro Tools - Trashing Your Preferences

1 1 1 1 1 Rating 3.20 (5 Votes)

akai eiepro protools setup protoolslogoAll DAWS need to be cleaned out once in a while. Luckily, there's an easy way to fix most cryptic error messages that may arise in Pro Tools, including Pro Tools Express Akai Professional/M-Audio Edition. This guide will walk you through deleting your Pro Tools preferences on both PC and Mac.

 

Contents

 

Trashing Pro Tools Preferences on Windows 7/Vista

  1. Click the Start Menu and click on Computer.

  2. Locate C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools\Databases\Unicode and delete the Volumes folder.

  3. Locate C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools\DAE\DAE Prefs and delete it.

  4. Click the Start Menu once again. In the search field, type "%appdata%". This will bring up a folder called titled Roaming. Click on it.

  5. Go to Roaming\Avid\Pro Tools and delete the remaining files. 

  6. Restart your computer.

 

▲Back to Top

 

Trashing Pro Tools Preferences on Mac OSX

  1. Open the Finder and locate Macintosh HD\Library\Application Support\Avid\Pro Tools\Databases\Unicode\Volumes. Delete the contents of this folder.

  2. Locate Macindtosh HD\Library\Preferences. Delete the following files - 

    com.digidesign.protools.plist
    DAE Prefs (folder)
    DigiSetup.OSX
    Pro Tools Preferences

  3. Empty the Trash and restart your computer. 

 

▲Back to Top

 

Popular

Latest Articles